July 17, 2012 § 6 Comments

“Think of our life in nature, – daily to be shown matter, to come in contact with it, – rocks, trees, wind on our cheeks! The solid earth! The actual world! The common sense! Contact! Contact! Who are we? Where are we?”

Henry David Thoreau

Travelling backwards, from one sea to another, we carry so much of ourselves with us. There is nothing distinct, simple or stable about these lands we traverse. The city that raised and sheltered me is as unknown and misunderstood as any new landscape I might discover. And whilst home has less to do with familiarity, it is becoming to separate myself from a familiar in order to redefine meaning.

I know myself better now, but understand me far less. For once and always, the blissful delight and unknowing of the present is all that is worth revelling in.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to

  • Don says:

    “I know myself better now, but understand me far less. For once and always, the blissful delight and unknowing of the present is all that is worth revelling in.”

    This really resounds with me. I certainly feel that I’m a mystery to myself. I think when we begin to grasp this being a mystery to ourselves, we begin to see the mystery in others and treat them with the reverence they deserve. There is something beautiful and blissful, as you say, of unknowing. I think we pretend to know far too much. You can’t manipulate a mystery. Thanks for a great post.

  • The words that your heart always shares is full of such simple but real truths which will lift the hearts of many who seek to understand daily life. Your words are always a sweet light to begin my day! Thank you sister Ruth!

  • Yes … it is becoming to separate myself from a familiar in order to redefine meaning …

Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading at some extraordinary project.

meta

